Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

12V DC to 110V AC Inverter on boat- Safety risk if wet or too hot in sun?

Jordan22

I'm looking at plugging in a splitter on the DC cigarette lighter outlet next to the captain's chair (see on Amazon here).

From there, Im then thinking of plugging in a DC to AC inverter (see on Amazon here) which would allow for more USB outlets and "regular" 110V AC plugs if/when needed.

I'm not an electrician (far from it) so wondering if there are any risks with doing this. If the inverter happened to get soaking wet while in use, could that cause a risk of someone getting shocked? Or, what if the inverter is in direct sunlight for a long time on a hot day while in use. Could that cause a risk of a fire? What about the risk of killing the boat battery by trying to draw too much power?

Appreciate any input or alternative methods to get additional outlets for power on the boat to charge phones, pumps and other devices when out for a long day on the boat.