Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Should you drain antifreeze from block/manifolds?

Zasher

Hello all, new community member here from Indianapolis, IN. This is my first time winterizing my ‘03 Response LXi (EFI) myself after purchasing this summer.

I have studied YouTube videos and threads from this community thoroughly, but in my search I have yet to find anyone discussing draining anti-freeze from the block and manifolds after sucking the 5 gallons into them. Considering almost 50% of owners believe a drained engine block is better than a wet one and is all that is needed without the additional step of running antifreeze through it, wouldn’t it be safest to drain anti-freeze immediately after running it through? 

I’ll be using -50 degree rated marine antifreeze which can partially freeze in the single digits at full concentration. If for any reason the antifreeze is diluted by existing water in the block, why take chance of leaving it in before 1st freeze/winter? I think I would rather have a drained block/manifolds with peace of mind knowing there could be a trapped pocket of diluted antifreeze vs pure water sitting somewhere. 

I appreciate any responses of feedback. My planned winterization process:

1) heat up engine to 160 using fake-a-lake

2) kill engine and drain water from block and manifolds

3) re-start engine and release 5 gallons of antifreeze using Camco winterization kit 

4) repeat drain of engine block/manifolds. 

5) disconnect j hose from water pump to release fluid.

6) disconnect 2 heater hoses and blow out.

7) remove impeller

Edited by Zasher
1 hour ago, Zasher said: