Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

? about draining water out of motor

durrettsyndrome

Hey guys im new to boats and this is my 1st winter with one. I have a 98 malibu sportster with a carbed vortec 350 that i am winterizing. I know there are 4 drains plugs total in the motor ( 2 in block, 2 in malifold). I located the plug on the passanger side of the block and drained about a bucket of water. I also drained both manifolds with about 1/2 bucket each. My ? is that on the driver side of the motor i cant seem to find the 4th plug. I have a bolt on that side that appears to have like a wing nut on it but i wasnt sure what it was. Thanks for the help were expecting below freezing temp in about 3 days :(

Edited by durrettsyndrome
Hey guys im new to boats and this is my 1st winter with one. I have a 98 malibu sportster with a carbed vortec 350 that i am winterizing. I know there are 4 drains plugs total in the motor ( 2 in block, 2 in malifold). I located the plug on the passanger side of the block and drained about a bucket of water. I also drained both manifolds with about 1/2 bucket each. My ? is that on the driver side of the motor i cant seem to find the 4th plug. I have a bolt on that side that appears to have like a wing nut on it but i wasnt sure what it was. Thanks for the help were expecting below freezing temp in about 3 days :(

The "wing nut" probably is what is called a petcock, like a lot of radiators have at the bottom to drain. Scew it in & water should come out. These drains should be at the center of the block (from front to back) & just above the oil pan.