Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Amp direct wired to battery, draining batteries

Raimie

Bear with me...I am a mechanical engineer who knows next to nothing about electronics...

18 T22 with sound pack one. 5 Channel JL Amp and wetsounds sub added to system by my dealer.

Last year I always left my battery switch on 1+2. This year, if I do that, both batteries are completely dead in 5-6 days. While troubleshooting, I noticed that with the battery switch off, the wire that runs from the amp directly to the smaller terminal on battery 2 was sparking. Again, this is with the battery switch off, key off, radio off etc.. So, the amp has to be draining my batteries, but how? Could something have been bummed on a switch or something?

This is my amp: M700/5-KJL Audio Refurbished M700/5: 5 Ch. Class D Marine System Amplifier 700 W

2 hours ago, Raimie said:

Bear with me...I am a mechanical engineer who knows next to nothing about electronics...

18 T22 with sound pack one. 5 Channel JL Amp and wetsounds sub added to system by my dealer.

Last year I always left my battery switch on 1+2. This year, if I do that, both batteries are completely dead in 5-6 days. While troubleshooting, I noticed that with the battery switch off, the wire that runs from the amp directly to the smaller terminal on battery 2 was sparking. Again, this is with the battery switch off, key off, radio off etc.. So, the amp has to be draining my batteries, but how? Could something have been bummed on a switch or something?

This is my amp: M700/5-KJL Audio Refurbished M700/5: 5 Ch. Class D Marine System Amplifier 700 W

I can’t speak to the apparent power draw on your batteries, but I will say this...