Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Surfin on a budget

CBray4

Hey guys I'm new to TMC, I'm also new to the boating world. My family just got a new to us 01 Wakesetter VLX. We are looking to make it a better surfing boat but we have some issues. We have no ballast(I believe it has the plumbing for the midship ski locker sack, but that's all the plumbing we have). We also have no wedge. We also have no surf gate system. 

The way I see it, we have none of the essential parts of a good surfing boat. 

So... What would you guys suggest doing first with a budget in mind. Sacks? Wedge? Surf gate?

All help is greatly appreciated! 

You have the wake or diamond hull? Wake will be easier.

You will need a lot weight added, 750 lb sacks in the rear locker, 400 lb bag in the ski locker, 600lb bag in the bow. That's what I have plus the wedge with the wake hull on my 2002 vlx wakesetter. Also plan on upgrading prop to 1235.

Check out

https://www.wakemakers.com

Welcome.  Lots of people here willing to help you spend $$!

Suggest you peruse the Ballast Info forum.  Lots of good ideas and stories.

For surf priority I would suggest rear locker and ski locker bags - as big as you can fit, and a 3 pump impeller pump setup.  You should be able to get that done for about $1200.  Bow weight is kinda dependent on how you want to use the bow area.

If you want to go further then add manual ($500) or auto ($2000 - $4000) surf gate, and then a wedge ($1000).

- and don't forget the tunes!