Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

2000 Sunsetter VLX

moto96s

Hi folks,

Newbie here. Didn't want to hijack someone elses thread, so i am starting my own.

Just picked up a 2000 Sunsetter VLX(SV23 Wake hull I believe). My first Malibu and I am really liking build quality and layout.

However, i am not to impressed with the wake yet. Boat came with a factory tower and no ballast system, so here is what I have so far. BTW, it is usually just my driver and i in the boat, 75% of the time.

I looked under the front seats, and there does not really seem to be enough room to make an integrated bow sack work properly, especially in the very front, so I put a 48 x 48x 12 side sack under the front seats on each side and fill them until the seats pop up, then I curse and pump a little out(weight unknown).

I have a 62x16x10 Tube sac in the ski locker and can pretty much fill it up(300lbs?).

I have 2 42x16x16 (400lb) Vdrive sacs in the rear lockers that came over from my last boat.

I have about 150 lbs of lead under the spotter seat.

I am beginning to think about selling one of my kids, or blood, or something so I can put a set of 750s in the rear lockers, but need to know if it will really make a difference before I committ the extra money. Also, if I can get the 750s to fit, will i have to add yet more weight in the front?

I usually wake at 20mph on a 65' line. I am just an old F#*t with no major skills, but am used to a slightly larger wake, and was hopng for a larger one yet. One of the folks I go out with likes to wake at 22 at 75 feet, and the wake really is not impressive at all at that speed with my current set up.