Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Wiring location for an Amp?

Ghost Crew

I'm installing a digital alpine amp (50 amp in line fuse) to better power my 4 existing speakers. Was going to install the amp on side panel by the driver feet, off the floor on ledge. I'm new at this and wanted to know if I could wire the positive of the amp to the power connection on the power bar and the negative to the ground bar, all under the dash. Would be so much easier than trying to run line down through the ski locker to the battery.

Thanks in advance and love this site, use it 4 or 5 times a season to trouble shoot the boat.

The amp's GND needs to go directly to the battery GND and the amp's B+ needs to go directly to the battery B+ or boat side ("C" post) of a dual-battery if applicable.

Ghost,

Just as stated above you need to go battery-direct. The existing helm supply cable and connectors are only rated to cover the factory accessories and very little more. With an amplifier capable of a maximum draw of 50 amps, you will want 4-gauge pos. and neg. cables. You also have the option of installing the amplifier much closer to the battery(s). Long RCAs are much less expensive than long primary wire.

David

Ghost,

Just as stated above you need to go battery-direct. The existing helm supply cable and connectors are only rated to cover the factory accessories and very little more. With an amplifier capable of a maximum draw of 50 amps, you will want 4-gauge pos. and neg. cables. You also have the option of installing the amplifier much closer to the battery(s). Long RCAs are much less expensive than long primary wire.

David