Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

07 LSV Surf Gate

C28

OK,

We surf alot 98% of the time and we have our wave dialed, but to get the pro level wave we need alot of weight so I opted for the combo route as follows

stock MLS including the front

1100 in the locker

550 in the bow along the surf side

1000 # of lead under the surf seat.

Full wedge

custom smooth under side swim deck

This has performed well and even the skim guys love it on both sides.

Now with the modern advancements of hydrodynamics (thank you Malibu) I have seen the light and set off to adapt my surf machine (2007 23 LSV HH FAE) to the new technology.

I studied the DIY surf gates and "LIGHTBULB" I had thought of a simple way to make a manual surf gate and loose the 1000 # of lead. I had concerns about the comments of how it effected the driving but what could be any worse than what I already had. SO with a sheet of 3/4" plywood and cardboard I set off to create a easy removable and durable sufrgate. Here is the play by play and indeed I found the oppacet in drive-ability - It is easier to drive than when I had the rubrail at the water line.

Photo Log

The idea

This is for the goofy side

The base which is attached to the swim deck brackets with 3 bolts can be removed in less than 2 min

The Gate

The pin holds the gate and the rod determines the angle of push

I will need to post the vid so you can see the full effect. The base stays in place and does not change the wakeboard wake. it takes 30 seconds to install and once removed there is nothing in the way for the kids to hit on the swim deck