Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

'03 VLX Ballast addition

saskicker32

Hey so I'm new to the crew but old to malibu, however I have a new (to me) '03 VLX. I have MLS equipped with the middle and two rear tanks. I was looking to upgrade. I have been searching this forum for about the last week and I think I know what I need to do, but I would like some confirmation as I'm a little nervous.

Here is my plan:

I want to remove the rear tanks and but Fly High 1100s in the back to lockers. Since I'm removing the stock tanks I would already have pumps back there. Can I just hook those up with an adapter to the new fly highs in there? Would I need to install a vent tube as well? Basically what else would I need for the rear sacs.

Next I want to put a tank up in the my bow, I have seen the U shaped fly high sac that I have hear will fill to around 350 pounds, but I may have to piece this together being on a budget. So my thoughts were to plumb this in, i would remove my t-handled plug from in the ski locker, use a ball valve and hook up a tsunami pump to pump my front tank. Then I would use a drain valve from either side of the U and bring those hoses together using a Y connector before the pump so the pump is working both sides simultaneously, and then Y connect the drain hose to the drain valve for my center ballast.

Could this work? like I said the budget is trying to hold me back but I already have one pump and hopefully only have to buy one more and then the three sacs (190x2) and 270. Thats like 700 for the pump and tanks and that doesn't include the adapters/piping/wiring/etc.