Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Driving Skills

MALI-MONSTER

I am fairly new to inboards. I have done a lot of research on driving techniques and really took my time the first time that we were out with our new Bu. I read many posts about docking and watched a video on how to dock. The first time I tried docking I looked like a pro; brought her right up to the dock and slowed to a perfect stop about three inches from the dock and perfectly parallell. Through the course of the day, I did it with similar success several other times. Only thing is, I was only pulling up to the dock on my (the driver) side. When we went to pull the boat out there was of course another boat docked on the left side of the dock. The other side of the dock (passenger side) was free but I chose to wait so I could pull up to the dock on the driver side. This did not please the wife and sun-burned kids who were passed ready to get off the water.

It seems difficult to dock to the passenger side due to the pull to the right in reverse. I am sure with practice that it can be done. What are the techniiques?

I would just drive straight in and have the truck driver walk off the bow onto the dock. It is a quick way to get the driver off and then just float in the marina until the trailer is in the water. I just pull in slow and give it a little reverse when you get close to the dock.

martinarcher

I would just drive straight in and have the truck driver walk off the bow onto the dock. It is a quick way to get the driver off and then just float in the marina until the trailer is in the water. I just pull in slow and give it a little reverse when you get close to the dock.