Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Fuel pump replacement assistance

I have a 2006 V-Ride with the340 Monsoon. I started loosing high end RPMs at the end of last season so I asked the local shop to take a look at it when they pulled it out of dry storage this spring. He called today to tell me the fuel pump is failing (60 psi at idle and only 20psi under throttle) and needs to be replaced. He charged me $250 for the diagnostic and said it will be another $1500 to replace the pump and it wont be done for 4 weeks. I'm no expert but I know when I am getting screwed. I ordered the part from our local Malibu dealer and plan to replace the pump myself this weekend. Question is, what am I really in for? Is this something that I can do myself or should I start looking for another shop to do the work. Thanks in advance for any information and/or advice.

Fuel pumps don't go bad unless they are starved for fuel. Did you starve it? Find out why the fuel pump went bad before you put the new one in or you can ruin the new fuel pump.

Edited by eyepeeler

It is absolutely something you can do yourself. I changed mine out in about 1-1/2 hours, and that was double and triple checking everything, and included running the boat on a fak-a-lake looking for fuel leaks and having a celebratory beer. You want to be careful, for sure, but you will not be executing man's return to the moon. $1500 to swap it out is thievery, if you ask me. I'd find another local shop, fast. They would never touch my boat (or wallet) again.