Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Homemade floating wedge for much older Malibu (87 Sunsetter)

rugger

Only a few may find this useful ("Square Windshield Club", right guys?) . Hopefully the other 90% will at least get a laugh out of it and appreciate their boats even more.

I rebuilt my boat a few years ago after a lot of use, and decided to extend it's performance a little more with a custom wedge. The transoms in these early boats are too narrow in the center (exhaust is closer together), they weren't reinforced and they were angled. So I always thought I would modify a factory wedge someday, then build a custom inside bracket. As I started drawing it up, I ended up making the whole thing. It performs exactly like a factory version, but the arms are narrower (same size foil), the bracket is angled and curves around the exhaust ports and is wider at the top to spread the load better. I also made a few other little tweaks to the design for my purpose.

The inner transom ended up spanning across both stringers like a giant T shape, with a lateral piece of stainless welded to it that actually bolts to the stringers via epoxied stainless steel inserts. I'm no engineer, but this seemed like a very strong solution for all the various stresses I could think of. I was mostly concerned about the narrow part of the transom. I made the angle part of the bracket, and the tank, an inch or so thigher so I could have plenty of room to service the rudder if ever needed without taking stuff apart. Cost was only about $400, but welding was free.