Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

87 Malibu Skier

skier_88

I just bought an 87 Malibu Skier. I am new to Malibu. Any thoughts? It has a Ford 351 in it. I've always been a fan of Mastercraft so this was a big jump. Any thoughts are appreciated from the neebie.

Not a lot of old Skier folks on the board. A couple of die-hard fans of the old boats. Welcome. How's the new boat? What's the condition...especially floor and stringers. Give us some info! :-)

Skier 87,

Welcome aboard. Lets see some pics of the boat. Martin Archer has a 86 Skier IIRC and he will be a wealth of knowlegde if you have questions about the boat. Also, he seems like a great DIYer and not afraid of tackling most projects, so if your boat needs some work and you have questions he will be your go to man.

BTW, I think an 87 Skier is a much better looking boat than a similar era MasterCraft Prostar. Though, I do admit that the late model Prostars look damn good.

Edited by shade

Boat seems to be in great shape. Runs great and sounds great. Much better than the new ones. I like the rumple. The interior needs to be replaced. The guy before me already rebuilt the floor and said the strings look good. How can I check that? What should I look for? The boat is the light blue and "rainbow" color. Not a fan but oh well. I just need info on interior basically. What about the 351 Ford? Any information on that motor and what I need to make sure to maintain. Who is this guy I need to talk to about it? How can I get a hold of him? I'm sorry, I'm new and don't know all of the tricks to this site yet.