Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Automated ballast design

zzbutler

I have been saying for the past two years that I was going to order some Enzo style custom sacs that would fully utilize the lockers on my 247 and plumb them in. Well, I don't have the money for the custom sacs but I am determined to get the plumbing done anyway.

There has been a lot of discussion lately about utilizing the existing pumps and what pumps are better and such. Bakes put together a nice diagram and detail about how they add ballast using the existing pumps and a diverter valve. There is a thread with a lot of info here also. However, there are still some details that I need to work out.

Fill Pumps - I have decided to go with the Tsunami 1200 pumps. I will use 3/4" thru hull fittings just like the factory ones, a ball valve, and the W747 to adapt to the 1 1/8 straight thread inlet of the pump. The outlet of pump will connect to 1" hose that I will attempt to stretch over the 1 1/8" connection on the pump and then use the 1" W743/746 Quick Release connectors on the sac.

Drain Pumps - Also the 1200's, they will attach to the sacs with the W734 Quick Twist Connect fitting like you normally use with a portable setup. I know some people think this may not be secure but it is really the best way to do it with minimal fittings and flow loss, while still giving me the ability to take the sacs out. If anything, I may just tape the connection to make sure it doesn't accidentally untwist. The outlet of the pump will be 1" hose like on the fill pumps.