Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

New Ski

Monk

OK Crew, I am heading down to the Cincinnati boat show this afternoon to start my search for a Ski for myself. Background information I have been skiing for at least 30 years just always used a ski from any combo set that was laying around or was/is in someones boat.I would appreciate any insight any of you may have regarding how to choose a ski, what brands you like (if it even matters) etc. I'm a big guy and getting older (6'8 and 220lbs-left foot forward) but prefer to not go to one of the "fat boy" models as they seem to not have any of the cutting ability I would like. I'm not going to be signing up for any competitions or anything but still would enjoy to free ski fairly aggressively. Looking forward to any and all your all inputs.

I would suggest taking a look at either the Triumph or NOS in the HO line, or the Theory or Senate in the Radar line. In either case, I would give the Rail boots in the Radar line a look. I just picked up some at our boat show to go with my Triumph ski to replace some worn out Venoms.

Any of those skis will allow you to ski aggressively, but are more forgiving (and less expensive) than the top of the line competition skis. In most cases, the Radar line is based on the HO line, but with some subtle modifications - they would say improvements on design. I spent some time talking with Chris Sullivan, who is in charge of the Radar ski line.

You will probably be looking at either a 69" or 71" ski at your size. What length are you on now?

Edited by obski