Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

01 Sunsetter VLX

hawk22

Hey guys,

I couldn't figure out how to edit the topic...I meant Sunsetter VLX

Newbie here. I visit WakeWorld quite a bit and I'm in the hunt for a new (to me) boat. I really like the Malibu for some reason. I don't have much for a frame of refernce. My current boat is a 1985 Supra Sunsport which is actually a decent wakeboard boat. I've ridden behind an 03 Centurion Elite V, 06 Mooomba LSV, and an 04 WakeSetter. When i rode in the Wakesetter I was convinced that that was a great boat. They had a manual wedge and thought it produced the cleanest wake I'd ever seen. So i'm looking for a newer boat but I'm trying to stay under 30 taxes included. But I'm finding some 05 Wakesetter VLX's so close to my budget, 32k everything except stereo pretty much, 36k fully loaded. I'm realizing I should try to stay within my original budget so I came across an 01 Malibu Sunsetter VLX for 15k. I haven't seen pics yet, but supposedly it has about 100 hours and stored indoors. Nothing on it. But I figure for 10k or so I should be able to get an illusion tower, speakers, and ballast and be ready to go. Initially I've been only looking at Wakesetters, but I've seen some Sunsetters and Sunscapes closer to my price range could anyone tell me if either of these will make a good wakeboard/surf boat? The 2 I've found are the 01 Sunsetter and 03 Sunscape. I just got to this site, so I will browse around. Also, can you add a wedge to an older boat or does that cause too much stress to the hull? My main purpose is wakeboarding/surfing, but I need room because we are always out with family. Thanks

Edited by hawk22
Hey guys,