Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Give me your upholstery tips and tricks

BillyChinookVLX

Hey crew,

I am getting ready to take on a complete replacement of my 03 VLX interior. I ordered skins through Gabe’s Custom Marine. They are shipped and arriving next week. I used to turn wrenches for a living so I have no worries about getting the boat back together, I have never done upholstery though. I would love to hear your experiences, tips and tricks for stretching and stapling vinyl.

thanks! And here is a picture of the boat right now, and the new skins prior to shipping because everybody likes pictures 

7F4C2ECC-9B60-4D06-9F7F-578DF8BD03ED.jpeg

FEA93E80-D06C-4275-B0BD-993C5449267B.png

• Like 1

Is it fair to ask if the Skins from Gabe’s were under or over $3000 ?  
Congratulations on your purchase and upholstery project…. 

18 minutes ago, 94MalibuEchelon said:

Is it fair to ask if the Skins from Gabe’s were under or over $3000 ?  
Congratulations on your purchase and upholstery project…. 

Full interior kit was $4500

• Like 1

A steamer works great to stretch the covers and helps with the foam. I also think having another set of hands is a must. I like to start in the middles and work to the corners.  
tips: add 2-3 inch strips rather than one staple for making your starts. Do not staple vinyl that is pulled and suspended over the edge, it will blow through it.  SS staples are a must. 

5 hours ago, stang233 said:

A steamer works great to stretch the covers and helps with the foam. I also think having another set of hands is a must. I like to start in the middles and work to the corners.