Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

V drive whirring / whine normal in forward?

I'm not super annoyed with the noise but just want to get opinions on if it is normal or if I should be concerned.  I have a new to me 2013 VTX (Monsoon 350). My background is Mastercraft growing up (although haven't owned an inboard for 20 years now).  I do not remember the forward-in-gear idle noise being there in past inboards.  Of course there was always the whine of reverse but I don't remember a whine being there in forward.  So in my VTX the whine in reverse if very pronounced but expected.  What wasn't expected is the same whine in forward, however it is much less than reverse and maybe some wouldn't even notice it.  About 15% of the volume that reverse has.  It is the sound of a turbo spinning up or a jet plane taking off, again not very loud in forward but it is there to the point that I find myself wishing it wasn't there idling along the shore on a sunset cruise.  So just wondering if it is normal to have a minor turbo like whine at low rpm in forward (don't notice it at all once we get to about 2000 rpm or more).   Its not prop sing, as I know what that sounds like, it is definitely a gear whine.  Doesn't sound like damage, sounds like low geared equipment trans whir/whine.  Just want some confirmation that it is normal, and if it is maybe I'll just look at doing some minor sound proofing.  Maybe I just notice it on this VTX more than the old MC's because the exhaust noise on the MC was so much louder (I have FAE on this boat and the exhaust noise is almost non-existent).