Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Power Wedge

Hello, just launched my lsv 23 this weekend and had a blast surfing with it. My only issue was that when I selected 5 or 6 on the power wedge, I would lose power to the engine and the wave would wash out.  This did not matter if I set the speed or used the throttle. 
I had no uses when I selected lift,1,2,3 or 4. The wave was perfect and I could adjust speed. 

Only became a problem when I selected 5 or 6. 
thoughts??

Good question. I have not tried position 5 and 6 with the ballast Empty.  will certainly try that next time. I am new to all this.  Not sure on prop size. I will ask my dealer. 

do you typically fill all your ballast?

Probably the most likely reason that you are having problems it that you have too much weight in the stern. This brings the bow up which would decrease the efficiency of the prop due to the prop angle. The boat is trying to move skyward and not forward which would make it feel like you are loosing power. With my current set up “surfing” I can run my M5 with 850 lbs of bow weight with max wedge, it will do it but  the rpms will go up @ 300 rpm.

• Like 2
ahopkins22LSV

To be completely honest, in every boat I’ve ever surfed from a 20’ vtx to a M235, I have never used past wedge 4. The wave gets too steep, too short and typically washes out. I would suggest trialing setting with weight, speed and wedge between 2&3. @NWBU has the perfect recipe for the 23 lsv in my opinion.