Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Does the 2020 Malibu OS have gps and maps?

potterm

I use the gps maps on my 2017 when I navigate at night.   I’m curious what the process is for gps maps on the new Malibu OS.  Do you have to add an extra option for the gps antenna?  Do you have to buy a Navionics map card sperately?

When I built mine the dealer/owner suggested that I don't check that block and to buy the Navionics set up for my iPhone. He said he liked the phone set up better than the Malibu option. His opinion, I have no real world experience with it.

Does the Iphone app require you to have service?  Or does it have a separate GPS puck?  

My G23 had this as a standard feature and it was especially nice at Lake Powell because it even had lake depth built into it so that you could see when you were coming up on underwater obstacles.  The lake can fluctuate 40 feet from year to year so it was pretty cool to see the map detect what parts of the lake were now dry ground and vice versa.  

IIRC, it was a $1000 upgrade for the Malibu so I passed since I was being very cost conscious at the time.  

Edited by TallRedRider

Without service the app would no better than looking at a paper map, so no depth or out of channel warnings. I have used Google maps in the dark as a pathfinder for me to stay in the channel on a couple of occasions.

As long as you've downloaded the maps for the areas you need before leaving cell service, or WIFI, the iPhone/iPad app will work as normal. The app runs off of the internal GPS of the iPhone/iPad, rather than the cell service, similar to aviation apps like ForeFlight or Garmin. 

Edited by NWBU
  • Like 1
1 hour ago, NWBU said: