Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Lost Buddy Bearings... How to repack Bearings?

Mike

Lost my Buddy Bearings while towing boat... ended up with grease all over.

Before I use trailer again I want to take bearings out, clean them, and repack the bearings but I have never done anything with the wheel bearings before. I am a real rookie and would greatly appreciate it if someone could tell me all steps to repack bearings. I have a 2000 Malibu Sunsetter Lxi with the factory trailer.

Thank you

I think trailers were regional up until the past year or two when Malibu started actually making their own.

Do you have a Boatmate, Dorsey, Magnum, etc?

You probably have the standard #84 spindle, but the best way is to pull the old bearings/races/seals and get the part numbers off them.

49 minutes ago, jwl019 said:

I think trailers were regional up until the past year or two when Malibu started actually making their own.

You probably have the standard #84 spindle, but the best way is to pull the old bearings/races/seals and get the part numbers off them.

Not sure what kind of trailer. Boat is up at cottage but I will check in next couple of days and let you know.

49 minutes ago, jwl019 said:

Steps are here and a video link too:

https://www.etrailer.com/faq-wheelbearingpack.aspx

Wow... that is great link. Lots of detail and great video! Thanks for help and link.