Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

6.0L 450 / TXI

jjackkrash

I am looking at a 2016 Response TXI with the 6.0l 450HP.  I don't know anything about this engine.  I suspect 450 HP would be awesome in a Response.  Any insight good or bad into this engine?  I am assuming this a closed-cooling engine and not raw-water cooled?  

BI have a 2013 with an LS3 (6.2l) closed cooling. It has the 450hp.

amazing! So much power. Keeps the rpms low. Great torque. Sounds great and pulls everything and anything.

I would always go closed cooling. But to really answer your question, I have no direct experience with the 6.0

• Like 1

99.9% sure that a 2016 response would have a pcm/crusader engine.  450 would be their tuned version of LY6 with hot cam.  Has done work in nautiques for years under the name ZR450.  I have this engine in my '16 axis.  so far so good.  In a direct drive ski sled I think it'd be ridiculous overkill (in a good way).

ahopkins22LSV

I ski behind a 2011 response with the Indmar ls3 regularly. It's an awesome boat and it has a great pull. It is like skiing behind a huge granite slab, don't expect any forgiveness during a pull :) 

Skiing in correct form and timing, I ski great behind that boat though! My PB is behind it actually. 

Edited by ahopkinsTXi

Your question  and responses really  hits home for me guys

Okay, Here is a Reality check to help you choose your engine...  

We All tend to always want more power..   More power must be better right?  ... But please consider that a bigger more powerful engine is not always the "best" idea for what you are using it for...    I admit i have a reason to be biased right now.