Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

How do I extend the sweet spot of the wave?

rgedds

I am completely new to the boating world, never owned a boat but tried wake surfing one time and now I'm hooked. I bought a 2008, 23 LSV last month and have been surfing as much as possible since. The whole crew is pretty much goofy so we've been messing around with different ballast configurations. I seem to have a nice clean wave with decent height but we are lacking in wave length. The margin of error is so small.....it's way too easy to get washed out the back of the wave. We bought a Ronix 8.3 wake shaper and that has helped but not as much as I was hoping.

If you could provide some details about how you have your ballast set up for both the goofy and regular side, what speed your running, and any other tips to get that wave looking it's best would be much appreciated!!

You're best bet would be to start by telling us how you are currently setting up the boat. Ballasts? Speed? Wedge Position? # of People? Generally more speed and/or more bow weight will lengthen the wave. But depending on how you go about things, you may end up sacrificing height for length.