Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Surf help...

NCSurfing

Hey guys. I have a '15 23 LSV and today was my first time surfing behind it. I am a total beginner...tried for first time behind a friends Malibu last summer and was immediately hooked however, my Supra wasn't up for the challenge. I'm 6'2 190 and am using a Hyperlite broadcast board (5'4" version). 

I got up just fine however, I couldn't get to the point where I could let go of the rope. I used the preset 'surf left' setting which was set for 10.6 MPH and factory ballast. That said, I have twin 650 p&p bags in the rear as well however, never filled them as the kids were bugging me for their turn. Was it a speed issue, a 'need more practice finding the sweet spot' issue or a 'I'm too big and factory ballast won't do it, try again with the bags filled' issue?  Only reason I didn't start with the p&p bags filled as well was that I am a beginner and wanted to work my way into it....

Thanks in advance for some guidance!

Its a practice makes perfect issue. A good surfer should be able to surf ropeless behind a 20 foot DD. 
On a boat your size Im sure the wake is really good, you can play around with weight but really its just a mater of riding more and figuring out how to surf. If you have never really done it befre it will take some time to figure it out. Get on the water as much as you can and figure out how to use your weight to either speed up or slow down and really use the board and wave to ride rope less for hours on end!

At minimum fill all your ballast, including the PnP.  Put your wedge into lift mode and run between 10.5 and 11 mph.