Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

DIY surf tab setup

Vtxdave

I want to start by saying I am brand new to the sight and hope I am doing this right. I have a 07 VTX and surfing is what my group loves to do. I have stock mls in rear and center. I added 1100 sacs to each corner and 1000 bow sac and also have a 750 that can be filled as needed. The reason I wanted to build a surf system was I surf goofy and most people surf regular. I got tired of having to throw the pump over and swaping from side to side and my boat is very picky about weight on opposite surf side and will wash out the wave easily. I wanted to get in the water fill up the bags and go side to side without time wasted. I did weeks of research before attempting I build this and compared all factory system along with a few aftermarket ones. This is only a prototype and not the final plate design. I did not spend high dollar on the plates the first time around due to not knowing if the plate design would be right ( long enough, wide enough.) please no hate I just want to share because I had a lot of PM's About the system

What I used to build my setup:

2 plates of steel (21" wide, 18" long)

2 lenco 102 xd actuators

2 lenco upper mounts

4 hinges home depot p/n 17903

2 momentary on/off/on switches acadmey sports p/n 51354

4 peices of hard plastic to mount hinges to hull. ( I had to curve them to get the hinges straight)

Miscellaneous bolts to bolt plates and actuators to hull

I made the wiring harness myself

Angle and plate to mount actuators and strengthen plates