Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Trailer Bunk Repair

My wife came in sideways on the trailer Friday and took a good chunk of trailer bunk out. I am going to completely replace the entire piece. I have never done this before and had a few questions.

What type of wood is being used? I was thinking a pressure treated 2x4?

What type of felt material is used to cover the bunk and where can I purchase it?

Are the bunk bolt holes counter sunk into the wood to keep bolt head flush?

I am going to have to launch the boat and make the repair in a parking lot, I am trying to figure out exactly what tools I will need to have no surprises once the boat is off the trailer. It looks like a pretty easy repair, any other info anyone has would be appreciated.

Edited by Fman

I would think it is probably 2x6. The old bolts may be useable again, you could pull one bolt out if you need to get more. Google search they make precut bunk carpet fairly cheap. GET Stainless staples.

2x6 is probably more like it, I had about 2 mins this morning before leaving for work to glance at it. Good call on stainless staples, I was hoping to be able to pick up the material to cover it at a local hardware store, all weather outdoor carpet?

Done it many a time.