Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Fake a Lake Question

I am new to boating and their engine setup, but familiar with land vehicles. On a car a small amount of coolant starts to flow immediately via the water pump through a little bleeder hole in the thermostat. Do thermostats on boats have the same feature? On my boat, when I use a Fake a Lake, how long before I should see water coming out of the exhaust? If I don't start the engine but have the water on will it eventually fill up and and come out the exhaust?

Thanks

Nope; it won't fill the motor unless the motor is running in my experience. Takes my boat a good 15 seconds before water is pouring out of the exhaust, though mine drains a lot of water once it is shut off.

I am new to boating and their engine setup, but familiar with land vehicles. On a car a small amount of coolant starts to flow immediately via the water pump through a little bleeder hole in the thermostat. Do thermostats on boats have the same feature? On my boat, when I use a Fake a Lake, how long before I should see water coming out of the exhaust? If I don't start the engine but have the water on will it eventually fill up and and come out the exhaust?

Thanks

Yes at least on my vintage basic Monsoon. With the water on, engine off. The block should fill until it reaches the closed thermostat then the water will bypass the block and drain out the exhaust hoses. So after a couple of mins or so with water on engine off I get water out the exhaust.

Don't know about the bleeder holes on the thermostat but I recall a more knowledgeable member suggesting those holes can be drilled out on the thermostat.

Edited by Bozboat