Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Potential first boat...

Waiting4deerseason

I'm very new to this scene but have liked wakeboard / direct drive (i.e. non stern drive) boats for a long time. Think it's finally time I purchase my first boat and I found a '87 sunsetter for $5,700.... I personally think its a tad high n am not willing to go over $5k but am wondering what you all think of these '80's boats. Seems like every one on here has a mid 90's or newer.

Interior is fading fast and that's ok cause I have grand delusions of creating my own anyways. Motor has 980 hrs on it and said it "runs like a top".... ( grain of salt) which is no biggie either cause I have an "engine in waiting". I don't do much water sports but I love the openness of this boat n the opportunity to change int without being locked in.

Questions are how do they ride? Potential missteps with the 80's boats?

My sister had a crown line stern drive boat that took forever to plane n get to speed... Everyone to the bow n wait a quarter mile for it to get on top of the water.... Anyways that's why I am drawn to the direct drives...

Thx in advance