Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Stereo ideas

UofM_MXZ

My new VLX has the stereo option 1, which of course only has amplification for the tower speakers. What I am wanting to do is also amplify the interior speakers and adding a sub. Although I do electronics for a living, I am not much into car/marine audio and what I would need. I would also like to add a subwoofer. I would assume I would need a two and four channel amp and a sub. I am not sure how to find the speaker wires for the interior speakers or where they are run. I tried to search for this topic but didn't quite find what I was looking for. I wouldn't mind sticking with fosgate.....do the amps have to be marine grade since I will mount them in the battery compartment? Sorry for all the questions and I apprecaite any help.

Josh

Your interior speakers are more then likely connected directly to the existing head unit. Depending on how much power / how loud you want it will determine how many amps you will want / need. I run a 5 channel with 300w to my sub, 100x4 to my interior & it is plenty loud. I have two other amps 400w to each of the two tower speakers & 200w to each of the other two midbass tower speakers. Again, plenty loud for me. I like the sub under the helm. The amps do not have to be marine grade but do get quality amps, fosgate is one of the brands.

yeah I like the idea of just one more amp rather than two seperate for power drawing reasons. I will most likely get a 5 channel then.

The number of amplifiers does not dictate current draw, the total output will. 4 amps delivering 1000W rms will have roughly the same battery current draw as 2 amps delivering the same 1000W rms.