Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Barefoot Shorts! If you barefoot (or want to), Read This!

TrickyNicky

Summary at the bottom if you don't want to read the blabbing.

So I've been footing for ~10 years now. Spent the first 2 years on the boom and the last 8 a mix of boom, short line and on rare occasions long line. 4 years ago I learned tumble-ups and subsequently tumble turns. I can do them consistently but they are always frantic and sloppy with a big explosion of a stomp to get me back up. I have NEVER been able to butt slide or three point, not even close. I've practiced multiple times but never had any success. The suit I use is probably 20-30 years old, so I always figured it is just not as slippery on the water and I should probably upgrade. Last year we had a good barefooting friend up at the cottage and his tumble turns were like 1-finger pulls in slow motion, there was no effort at all and I craved that control.

Last night we had the same crew for a ski/barefoot night and I wanted to learn that control. I borrowed his barefoot shorts and I must have looked like (certainly felt like) a pro. I probably spent an equal time sliding around on my butt as I did standing. I could sit down, stand up, sit down as much as I like. Instead of doing a sloppy tumble, I was linking tricks like: sit-down, tumble-left, sideways-lie-down-butt-slide, double-tumble-right, tumble-left, up-on-one-foot. It was AMAZING!!! I feel like a brand new footer and my love and desire to go again is back in FULL swing.