Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

New points and coil for an old Skier....

CliffB

Please excuse the Noob questions of mine....I'm new to Chevy stuff so I'm learning.

I have an '89 Skier with the 5.7L (260hp) Mercruiser enginer. The distributor is marked with "SAE J1171" The coil doesn't really have any markings on it (that I can see) other than "needs external ballast"

The distributor has regular old points in it. I'd like to a) remove the mechanical points and install the pertronix electronic points, and b) add a better coil (pertronix flamethrower?). Can someone tell me what pertronix points kit I need? And also, what flamethrower coil is the right one for my engine?

Thank you in advance.

Call Pertronix with your dist #...they'll set you up...too many different combinations, when I installed my kit (10 years ago). Pertronix is very helpful and know exactly what/which one you'll need for both the points and coil.

Please excuse the Noob questions of mine....I'm new to Chevy stuff so I'm learning.

I have an '89 Skier with the 5.7L (260hp) Mercruiser enginer. The distributor is marked with "SAE J1171" The coil doesn't really have any markings on it (that I can see) other than "needs external ballast"

The distributor has regular old points in it. I'd like to a) remove the mechanical points and install the pertronix electronic points, and b) add a better coil (pertronix flamethrower?). Can someone tell me what pertronix points kit I need? And also, what flamethrower coil is the right one for my engine?

Thank you in advance.