Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

To Cover...or Not to Cover

cavl41

Hi everyone...I am a soon to be newbie. Getting my first VLX delivered on Saturday. VERY excited. The current owner, the marina that I had check out the boat and the transporter ALL recommended that it be shipped without the cover for fear of bleeding or marks being left on the boat. I've read similar threads here in the past. Boat is traveling overnight 700 miles. What to do?

martinarcher

Is it making the trip in a single day? What does the weather look like?

If the cover is at all decent I would have it shipped with the cover and have the gunnel of the boat wrapped in several layers of saran wrap to protect from scratches in transit where the cover meets the hull. I had my boat shipped 2k miles with the cover and it was fine, but it did come with an Evolution cover. :biggrin:

Avoid towing with the cover.

Agreed. A bit of rain / road grime can likely be cleaned cheaper and easier than fiberglass damage caused by a rubbing cover.

Towed to Shasta last year (7 hours from here) without cover based on dealer recommendation and reading folks feedback here. Even though it seemed to be 50/50 for people using cover or not.

Anyway: Trip down was fine but I was horrified on the way back as it rained super hard and the spray from big rigs pelting the boat and made it a huge mess.

So for our recent trip when rain was in the forecast we towed with cover but used plastic wrap (a tip I read here) to cover areas where the cover would rub and could scratch. My wife was smart enough to go to a UPS store and get wrap from them as it is cheap, strong, and a lot wider than saran wrap.