Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

What speed do you run?

PeteOOXXOO

Hey crew. Fairly new to the sport - just wondering what speed everyone runs at for the 3 disciplines (wakeboard, slalom and surf)? The new Bu has preset cruise control speeds - just wondering whether they are ok or not? Thoughts?

Wakeboard- 22. Slalom 35 but I think Im going to back it down to 30-32 this year. I'm a novice at both, the reason I board at 22 is because it's the only speed I can get a halfway decent wake with a Response. I ski at 35 because I want a really flat wake but that is probably faster than I should be going given my skill. Im going to back it down a bit this spring and concentrate on fundamentals before stepping back up.

It changes based on the skill level of the person, but in general

Wakeboard - 20

Ski - 32

Surf - Usually around 11 - My speed control doesn't lock in this low so I usually do this by RPM manually

It changes based on the skill level of the person, but in general

Wakeboard - 20

Ski - 32

Surf - Usually around 11 - My speed control doesn't lock in this low so I usually do this by RPM manually

If you are using the malibu integrated speed control, have your dealer reflash it. Then you will be able to set it all the way down to about 8 mph.

Edited by Jimmypooh

We only slalom ski for the most part. We run 36mph . If we do get a newbie we do adjust. Skill, weight , are the biggest factors. We also have all running 15 off or more for the most part.

Our usual crew run 35 off. We don’t even keep the first 15 feet on our ropes.