Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Critique my wakesurfing wave

Tacostik

Front, Center, Left MLS

750 Piggy Back

400 Fly High on seat

150 Fly High up front

Wedge 2 clicks from bottom

5 adults all on surf side

10-15 feet of water

My link

Do we need more weight? The crew is all pretty experienced ocean surfers (10-15 years), but no one can really stay in the pocket for any amount of time. I'm starting to wonder if we are using the wrong board. It's a 4'9" Hyperlite Broadcast. I know it's kind of a newbie board, but I wanted the wife and less experienced friends to get into it too. Any chance that the board is the problem?

I am pretty new at surfing so take this for what its worth... I am running a 5'6" Broadcast and can go ropeless for days behind my old Skier with 1250 lbs in the rear corner.

I would think with a bigger board you will be ropeless easily. BUT that being said I would think you could do it with your current set up.

Make sure your cutting into the face of the wave slightly, this will give you a little more lift on the board and help you go ropless. Also make sure the driver is turning slightly into the wave.

Post up a vid and everyone will really chime in with some tips!

EDIT: I cant see the link, no facebook accont, also site is blocked from work...

Edited by Levi900RR

Here is the nonfacebook pic.

Surf Wake

The wave just doesn't really grab you. In the ocean you can really feel the push, but not behind my boat.

Edited by Tacostik

How fast are you going? You should be more than capable of surfing that wave for days. You might also have to adjust your technique, more front foot, weight on your toes.