Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

is wakeskating safer than wakeboarding?

bamabonners

I am brand new to wakeboarding (i grew up on skis and kneeboards). I want to try wakeboarding, but I hear so many horror stories of people getting hurt. I already have have torn left knee that I have been avoiding surgery on.

I am thinking that NOT having your feet strapped to the wakeskate would allow you to fall and not injure knees as easily. Is this thinking correct? I am almost 35 and I know I am not as fit as I was 15 years ago...

No, skating not safer than boarding. Imagine a one foot on, one foot off scenario.

I would disagree. I've never heard of a blown knee on a wakeskate, but I've seen 2 on wakeboards. Mind you, the ratio is about 9:1 wakeboard/wakeskate, but the falls are more natural with nothing attached.

• Like 1

I would disagree. I've never heard of a blown knee on a wakeskate, but I've seen 2 on wakeboards. Mind you, the ratio is about 9:1 wakeboard/wakeskate, but the falls are more natural with nothing attached.

Shaun Murray blew out his knee a number of years ago on a wakeskate. There have been a number of broken femurs on them as well. As stated previously, the injuries happen when one foot is on the board and the other is off of the board.

You can have injuries with either one. I wouldn't say that one is safer than the other. It really depends on what you are doing.

One of my crew blew out her knee wakeboarding a couple of years ago and all she did was land a bit stiff legged on the wake. Nothing exciting, but it did a number on her knee.