Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Classic sunsetter hulls

andersonauto

I need some advice, looking at older sunsetters, and have studied the specification chart, and know that 93 was first year for sv23 hull, and I think first year no wood, but how are the 80's hulls in comparison? I am looking for best wakeboard wake period and possible surfing I am stepping up from and older Cobalt I/O 19ft which had surprisingly good wake I am 6 ft and learned several inverts and spins behind it. I know an older boat is going to probably need some work but that is what I do for a living so I should be able to tackle anything from stringer repair to transmission and engine rebuilds. So mainly I want to know if a mid 90's and later hulls are that much better or if I can make an older hull put up a big wake with enough ballast? I also read about installing a wedge on a older sunsetter so that could be an option. sorry for the long post. I know newer is better but I guess right now I have more time than money. Thanks in advance

First, welcome to the Crew.

If you’re wanting the throw a big wake I don’t know that you really want a Sunsetter. That’s what I have and the wake is OK with the wedge but it sounds like you looking for more than that so you’ll need ballast for sure. I think Malibu stopped using wood in 96 but I may be wrong.