Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Surfing With a Sunscape

ChuckW

I'm new to surfing and need some input in setting up my 08 21 Sunscape for some occasional surfing. I have a manual wedge but no ballast and with 10 people in the boat my friends son was able to surf (regular) but I couldn't go ropeless(goofy) with his 5'11" Landlock. I'm looking at a sack for the ski locker and one for the rear for now. Can I squeeze the 1,000 sack in the rear or is 750 the max ? Is the Landlock the right board for the smaller wave ? (most folks using the board are between 170 and 190 lbs)

Thanks !

Chuck

That hull with a Wedge and 750 lb sack is what I learned behind. The wave was REALLY short but big and steep. You should really consider putting some weight in the bow as well to lengthen the wave.

we surfed my 02 21 sunscape alot (different hull). It needs LOTS of weight, but the wave is very good. Surfing on the drivers side never worked out well... For normal surfing, put a 750 in the surf side locker at a minumum, and get some weight up in the bow (3 people or another sack on the surf side seat).

We figured that in order to get a decent wave we needed a minimum of 1000 pounds (people or ballast) in the back third of the boat (in or on lockers) + 500 in the bow + 400 on surf side seats + wedge to get a minimally surfable wake. Ideally we'd put a 750 in the locker + 500 under surf side seats + a 750 in the bow + wedge + 10 or 15 people all crammed on the surf side of the boat, heavier people on the lockers, lighter girls crammed in the bow on the tank or on the passenger side bench.

Hope this helps,

Chad