Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Wakesurfing behind a 1995 Echelon LX

dutchtouch

Hey All,

Newbie here. I am looking to buy my first boat (on a limited teacher budget). One of the things that I would love to do behind my "new" boat is wake surf. The boat that I am currently negotiating over is a 1995 Malibu Echelon LX. Has anyone tried to wake surf behind this boat? and if so, what kind of ballasts, etc were needed to accomplish this? Any info is helpful...until a week ago, I did not know a stern drive from a direct drive ;)

Hey All,

Newbie here. I am looking to buy my first boat (on a limited teacher budget). One of the things that I would love to do behind my "new" boat is wake surf. The boat that I am currently negotiating over is a 1995 Malibu Echelon LX. Has anyone tried to wake surf behind this boat? and if so, what kind of ballasts, etc were needed to accomplish this? Any info is helpful...until a week ago, I did not know a stern drive from a direct drive ;)

Check this out

Not the same exact boat but it can be done! :rockon:

Amarfanhar surfs behind his '93 Echelon LX, same boat. Pretty sure it's a sac in the ski locker, then the L shape behind the engine and on one side, wedge down, and a couple of guys.

Hope your puchase goes thru, it's a great boat! Gonna set mine up for surfing next year.

Edited by Michigan boarder