Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Mercruiser 350 fuel pump installation

My mechanical fuel pump went bad on my mercruiser 350 so I ordered one from SKIDIM. It came today and I can not figure out how to get the pump arm under the pushrod. The push rod is fully extended and there is no room to get the pump arm underneath it. Is there a trick to it? Do I have to rotate the engine to retract the arm a bit? Most people complain that the rod falls off and they use grease to stick the arm to it. Thanks in advance. Pat

Hello, I'm no expert, but I recently replaced my mechanical pump on my '89 Euro Skier, and the rod is rather tough, but I was able to push it up after kind of twisting it barely with my fingers. It was tough, I'll admit. But it was possible. Good luck.

True Blue

My mechanical fuel pump went bad on my mercruiser 350 so I ordered one from SKIDIM. It came today and I can not figure out how to get the pump arm under the pushrod. The push rod is fully extended and there is no room to get the pump arm underneath it. Is there a trick to it? Do I have to rotate the engine to retract the arm a bit? Most people complain that the rod falls off and they use grease to stick the arm to it. Thanks in advance. Pat