Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

2004 Malibu Wakesetter VLX Problem

I am not a boat expert so please bare with me. Just bought a 2004 Malibu Wakesetter VLX. Today was my first day on the lake. What an amazing ride! All was going well but about an hour into the day I started hearing 4 beeps coming from under the dash. Having no idea what the problem was I pulled the boat out of the water. I did some research tonight and it sounds like it could be a faulty oil pressure switch. I have located the switch and unplugged the brown wire as per what I have read. If the beeping goes away it sounds like it is the switch. But I am a little worried it could be something else. My oil pressure read in the middle of the gage for the most part but when going fast it did climb. Is this normal? Also, i felt the water exhaust pipes and one was quite a bit hotter than the other. When in the boat facing the rear, the one on the left was hotter (and it was a fairly big difference). Is this normal? When I pulled the boat out of the water there was water coming out of the right exhaust but nothing out of the left.

Thanks in advance (hopefully I am making sense!!!!)

Congrats....

The oil pressure gauge should climb as you accelerate. I am not sure on faulty sensor, but replace it to see if that fixes the "beep."

I would check you impellar to make sure it is okay. I was just on a buddies boat who sucked a leaf up and got hot for a minute, but after a quick break everything was fine. I know my boat has an raw water intake filter and it gets cleaned every other oil change.

Thanks....

How high should the oil pressure gauge climb?