Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Read that insurance policy!

Winz

I thought I would share with you a mistake that will cost me a lot, but will hopefully save others.

First of all, I am a boating rookie. My Malibu is my first boat, purchased last year. I called Geico to get insurance on the boat as they are the insurers of my cars. $640 later, my policy was in effect and sent to me. The actual policy was through a company called Ski Safe. I promptly put it in the safe along with the other papers I keep.

Last saturday, my Malibu tried to mate with a very large log in the river and was pretty damaged. I called my insurance agent - they instructed me to send a letter, take pictures, and get an estimate.

Today they called to inform me that my boat policy has a "lay up" provision from Oct 15th to May 15th. and they denied the claim. The gist is that while the boat is covered during that period from damages (fire, acts of nature, etc) it is not covered in the water. I certainly was not informed of this when I bought the policy, but after reading the policy, it is a footnote in the declarations page.

The repair shop I am working with is very experienced in working insurance claims. They told me that "lay ups" are common practice in the north eastern part of the US due to a shorter boating season, but not common in the western US (I live in California). They were puzzled (as am I) why an insurance company would sell a policy with those provisions in California.