Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Sign in to follow this  
bxroads

Sunsetter vs Response LXI

bxroads

Could some please explain the difference between a Sunsetter and Response LXI. I'm new to Malibu and do not know the history.

Intense

Others will have more detailed knowledge than myself....but the general difference being the Response is more of a slalom/barefoot ski boat and the Sunsetter is more geared toward wakeboarding/general cruising.

That being said, the Sunsetter can be had with a diamond (ski friendly) hull or a wake hull. Sort of a best of both worlds....

lakewaterjunky

I’m no authority on the subject but here are a few tid bits.

It seems that the Sunsetter is basically the “family” boat of the ski favoring DD line compared to the RLXI. While the Response line is hard core/tournament slalom, the Sunsetter line is somewhat of a roomier version.

The Sunsetter has had different hulls regarding wake shape and size(maybe handling too, I'm not sure).

The Sunsetters also look to have higher gun walls on some models/years.

Another thing to take notice of is that the RLXI ‘s first year (walk through windshield) was in 2003 the others before it were just Response (closed bow) and Response LX (step over, open bow or “playpen”).

The Sunsetter line has had labels of LX, XTI, LXI and a Standard model in the past that I know of and it seems that the last year made was 2006 and it was SLXI model.

There are/were different hulls available with Sunsetter for different years(I.E. SV25, SV23wake, and SV23diamond) while the Response line was main stream slalom wake hulls only such as the SV23diamond and the new diamond cut hull.