Welcome to TheMalibuCrew!

As a guest, you are welcome to poke around and view the majority of the content that we have to offer, but in order to post, search, contact members, and get full use out of the website you will need to Register for an Account. It's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the TheMalibuCrew Family today!

Sunsetter vs. Echelon LX

SteveC

I am in the market for a used tow boat and had pretty much decided on a mid-90s (1993 or newer as I really like the idea of a boat with fiberglass stringers and floor) Sunsetter. I like Malibu boats and the Sunsetter met my criteria so it seemed like a no-brainer. Then I stumbled across this forum and read a lot of posts praising the Echelon as an excellent boat and now I’m starting to second guess myself.

I was hoping you guys could give me a little advice as I have no direct experience with either boat. The boat will be used for the following (in order of importance):

1. General cruising around the lake (the rest of my family are not avid skiers and there are more of them than me so the boat will be used for general use more than it will be used for skiing).

2. Open water slalom skiing (I am an avid slalom skier and want a good tow boat for this purpose).

3. Other towed watersports (Wakeboarding, tubing, etc…Having a good wakeboarding wake is a very low priority for me as the people in my family don’t wakeboard but we often have guests that do so the boat will be used for wakeboarding from time to time.)

I’m looking for a boat that meets the following criteria:

1. Open bow

2. Decent ride in choppy water (the lake on which the boat will be primarily used is not large and doesn’t get extremely rough but as the boat will be used quite a bit for non-towing duties, it has to ride decently when going from here to there in less-than-glassy conditions)